Skip to content

Life of the Mind Committee

The Life of the Mind Program is overseen by the following committee of UT faculty, staff, and students who work together to select a theme and book designed to engage and inspire the incoming class.


Jason Mastrogiovanni, Director of First Year Studies


  • Stella Bridgeman-Prince, First-Year Studies
  • Kirsten Benson, English
  • Amy Blakely, Communications
  • Celeste Waugh, Orientation
  • Robin Nicks, English
  • Margaret Dean, English
  • Lindsey Wainwright, McClung Museum
  • Mary Pom Claiborne, Knox County Libraries
  • David Bryant, Clearance Brown Theatre
  • Rebecca Jackson, Social Work
  • Lorie Mathews, Knoxville Community Member
  • Anne Langendorfer, English
  • Jeff Larsen, Psychology
  • Ingrid Ruffin, Library
  • Dean Rice, Knox County Mayor’s Office

The flagship campus of the University of Tennessee System and partner in the Tennessee Transfer Pathway.

Report an accessibility barrier.Privacy.